United Nations General Assembly and Security Council Elect Five Members of International Court of Justice

The General Assembly and the Security Council of the United Nations on 12 November (2020) elected five Members of the International Court of Justice for a term of office of nine years, beginning on 6 February 2021.

Judges Xue Hanqin (China), Peter Tomka (Slovakia), Julia Sebutinde (Uganda) and Yuji Iwasawa (Japan) were re-elected as Members of the Court. Mr. Georg Nolte (Germany) was elected as a new Member of the Court.

In February 2021, the Court as newly constituted will proceed to elect from among its
Members a President and a Vice-President, who will hold office for three years.

Source: https://www.icj-cij.org/en

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: